By T. Mack The Bronte sisters, Charlotte, Emily and Anne are best known for their novels, which are considered quintessential parts of classic British literature. Many people are much more familiar with the literary works of the these women than they are with the tragic lives of the sisters themselves. The BBC is bringing the story of these fascinating women to a television drama.

Charlotte Bronte wrote Jane Eyre, the story of a plain governess who falls in love with her gruff and distant employer. Emily penned Wuthering Heights, which tells of a man named Heathcliffe, his life and death, his love and his quest for revenge. Anne is known for her work, Agnes Grey, which, much like Charlotte’s novel, follows the titular character as she works as a governess and eventually tries her hand at love.

The women all managed to publish their works–now largely considered masterpieces–before their untimely deaths at ages 38 (Charlotte), 30 (Emily) and 29 (Anne). Their lives prior to their deaths were hard and included difficult relationships with their father, Patrick Bronte and their brother, Branwell. The series will focus on the sisters’ adult lives and these relationships.

The series, called To Walk Invisible: The Bronte Sisters, will be written and directed by Sally Wainwright, award-winning writer of Happy Valley and Last Tango in Halifax.

See more on this story here.

Are you a fan of any of the Bronte sisters’ work? If so, tell us which novel you love and why in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s